Immigration Lawyers
You Can Depend On

Home - Basics of an Asylum Claim

Basics of an Asylum Claim

Author: Joseph P. Murphy, Esq., Allegheny Immigration Group

Release Date: 12/25/2019 (YouTube)

Author’s Statement:

This is part 1 of a transcription of my video on asylum which you can see here. If you or someone you care about is, or is in contact with someone who may have a legitimate asylum claim, please call my office at (412)521-2000 or my cell at (412)973-3442. You can also email me at Please visit, like and share the Allegheny Immigration Group Facebook page and the Allegheny Immigration Group Youtube Channel.

So, what is Asylum?

Asylum is an ancient political concept. “I think that the Greeks invented it.”Some time it is called political asylum. The idea is that someone persecuted in their own country can apply for protection in another. And in many cases, that can be permanently moving to the country. The United States recognizes the right of asylum that’s under our country laws and the international laws that we have signed with the UN American Common Law and also the Anglo-Roman common law of the Asylum. There are Refugees and Asylees. Refugees are designated as a particular subgroup and are persecuted. The definition is that Refugees and Asylees are the people who have directly applied on their own. For those who qualify for asylum are known as Asylees. At this point, they are granted the status A01. After one year of getting that, the Asylees can apply for a green card and ultimately the citizenship which is a very nice path to citizenship. We don’t have to delve in the details as you have to get persecuted first for that.

Contact Us

(412) 586-4131

    We serve clients nationwide, and throughout Pennsylvania and West Virginia, including, but not limited to, those in the following localities: Allegheny County including Carnegie, Duquesne, Glenshaw, Mc Kees Rocks, Mckeesport, Penn Hills, Pittsburgh, Ross Township, Shaler Township, and Wexford; Beaver County; Butler County; Crawford County; Erie County including Erie; Fayette County including Uniontown; Indiana County; Lawrence County; Mercer County; Washington County; Westmoreland County; Hancock County including Weirton; Harrison County; Monongalia County including Morgantown; and Ohio County including Wheeling.